SIOP Europe AYA Committee

The SIOP Europe AYA Committee was launched on the occasion of the SIOP Europe Annual Meeting, which took place 20-24 May 2019 in Prague, Czech Republic.

The aims of the SIOP Europe AYA Committee are to provide and receive strategic and direction-forming input into and from existing networks and groups such as ENTYAC and the ESMO/SIOPE AYA Working Group, other SIOPE Working Groups, as well as to liaise with professional and patient organisations to bring AYA issues onto the political agenda.

The SIOP Europe AYA Committee consists of Owen Smith (Chair, Ireland), Andrea Ferrari (Italy), Johan De Munter (Belgium), Valerie Laurence (France), Paola Quarello (Italy), Dan Stark (UK), as well as four Young SIOPE members Eva Brack (Switzerland), Morgane Cleirec (France), Maria Otth (Switzerland) and Paula Perez (Spain).

The Committee would like to thank outgoing committee members Stefan Bielack, Katarzyna Derwich, Uta Dirksen and Lars Hjorth for their excellent contribution to the AYA Committee. They will continue as advisors.



Caring for Adolescents and Young Adults (AYA) with Cancer Course, 29-30 September 2023 (online) - click HERE to find out more!


Recent Publications

Press Release:

Experts urge to remove care inequalities for adolescents and young adults (AYA) with cancer


Adolescents and young adults (AYA) with cancer: a position paper from the ESMO/SIOPE AYA Working Group. April 2021, ESMO Open

The big challenge of treating adolescents and young adults with cancer. July 2019, Cancerworld

Should you need more information on the activities of the Committee, please do not hesitate to contact Mariangela Fiorente,